Here is a quick list of which iPhones currently support and do not support the new Apple OS. Image: Apple

At the latest Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC), Apple announced their new operating system, iOS 17, along with several products and features. Apple has stated that significant changes will come to the phone, messaging, and FaceTime features in this brand-new iOS 17.

Apple has further revealed at the conference that users will be able to see some new features. This list will include several updates such as contact posters, standby mode, live voice mail, FaceTime, stickers, and AirDrop. However, it has been known that not all users will have the opportunity to use these features.

While iOS 17 is expected to be globally released in the upcoming month of September, not all iPhone models will have the ability to use this new operating system.

The phones on which iOS 17 can be used:

iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, iPhone XR, iPhone SE, iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, iPhone 11 Pro Max, iPhone 12, iPhone 12 Mini, iPhone 12 Pro, iPhone 12 Pro Max, iPhone 13, iPhone 13 Mini, iPhone 13 Pro, iPhone 13 Pro Max, iPhone 14, iPhone 14 Plus, iPhone 14 Pro, and iPhone 14 Pro Max.

The iPhone models on which it cannot be used:

iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus, iPhone 7, iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 6, iPhone 6 Plus, and the new software version of iPhone X will not support iOS 17.

The reason behind this compatibility issue, as per Apple, is that iOS 17 will run only on iPhones with an A12 Bionic chipset or its succeeding generation processor. As such, some older models, notably iPhone 8 and older, will not be able to run the new operating system.


Bangi News app আপনাকে দিবে এক অভাবনীয় অভিজ্ঞতা যা আপনি কাগজের সংবাদপত্রে পাবেন না। আপনি শুধু খবর পড়বেন তাই নয়, আপনি পঞ্চ ইন্দ্রিয় দিয়ে উপভোগও করবেন। বিশ্বাস না হলে আজই ডাউনলোড করুন। এটি সম্পূর্ণ ফ্রি।

Follow @banginews